Telegram to ‘University Board Oxford’

In 1958 the University honoured eight men: the Prime Minister, Harold Macmillan; the author and Member of Parliament for the University, Sir Alan Herbert; the politician and Labour Party leader, Hugh Gaitskell; the economist Lord Beveridge; the Australian judge Sir Owen Dixon; the chemist and Nobel Laureate, Arne Tiselius; and two composers, François Poulenc and Dmitri Shostakovich. Initially Shostakovich was reluctant to make the journey from Moscow, as he thought he was in a competition which he might not win, but as soon as the nature of the honour was explained to him he accepted warmly by telegram.