Five novels by Jane Austen (1775-1817)

Four of Jane Austen’s six novels were published in her lifetime: Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma (1815). They each appeared in the three-volume format standard at the time, and following common practice Austen published them anonymously (although the title pages made clear that they were all by the same author). First editions of these novels did not reach the Bodleian until the early twentieth century, either through gift or, as in this copy of Pride and Prejudice, through purchase. As a copyright library it was entitled to a copy of each title on publication, but its librarians did not, at that time, believe it necessary to collect mere novels.